BTB Personnel

First Name Last Name Job Description Phone Number Email Address
Dave Althausen Staff Services Manager (916) 227-4260 Dave.Althausen@post.ca.gov
Michael Barnes Senior Consultant (916) 227-3454 Michael.Barnes@post.ca.gov
Melissa Bell Basic Course Certification Review Analyst (916) 227-5426 Melissa.Bell@post.ca.gov
Mary Brendlen Scenario Analyst (916) 227-3900 Mary.Brendlen@post.ca.gov
Philip Caporale Senior Consultant (916) 227-3915 Philip.Caporale@post.ca.gov
Patricia Grier Bureau Secretary (916) 227-4252 Patricia.Grier@post.ca.gov
Jim Grottkau Senior Consultant (916) 227-3935 Jim.Grottkau@post.ca.gov
Scott Loggins Bureau Chief (916) 227-4261 Scott.Loggins@post.ca.gov
Jeff Nelson Senior Consultant (916) 227-2816 Jeff.Nelson@post.ca.gov
Cheryl Smith Assistant Basic Course Coordinator (916) 227-0544 Cheryl.Smith@post.ca.gov
Luanne Vasquez Basic Course Waiver and Requalification Analyst (916) 227-4254 Luanne.Vasquez@post.ca.gov

 

BTB Functions

Contact BTB at (916) 227-4252

TopicBureau Contact
Academy Director / Coordinator Workshop Michael Barnes / Cheryl Smith / Paula Mendenhall
Background Investigations (PC 830) Requalification / Three-Year Rule Luanne Vasquez / Paula Mendenhall
Basic Course Certification Review (BCCR) Jeff Nelson / Melissa Bell / Paula Mendenhall
Basic Course Consortium Michael Barnes / Cheryl Smith / Paula Mendenhall
Basic Course Instructional System Cheryl Smith
Basic Training Academies Michael Barnes
Becoming a Peace Officer Michael Barnes
California Academy Directors' Association (CADA) Scott Loggins / Michael Barnes
Exemplary Peace Officer Training Manual Michael Barnes
Ethics / Integrity Basic Training Michael Barnes
Field Training / Police Training Guide Phil Caporale / Paula Mendenhall
Field Training Officer (FTO) Course Phil Caporale/ Paula Mendenhall
Investigation and Trial Preparation Course Phil Caporale/ Paula Mendenhall
Learning Domains (Basic Course)
- Content/Update of Student Workbooks
Cheryl Smith / Mary Brendlen
Learning Domains (Basic Course)
- Training and Testing Specifications
Cheryl Smith
Order Student Workbooks - https://docstore.kinkos.com/post_ca Cheryl Smith / Mary Brendlen
PC 832 Arrest and Firearms Course
- Content

Phil Caporale / Paula Mendenhall

PC 832 Arrest and Firearms Course
- Requalification
Phil Caporale / Paula Mendenhall
Problem-Based Learning (PBL) Phil Caporale / Paula Mendenhall
Problem-Oriented Policing (POP) Phil Caporale/ Paula Mendenhall
Public Safety Dispatcher Course Phil Caporale / Paula Mendenhall
Public Safety Dispatcher Instructor Development Course Training Program Services
Recruit Training Officer Course Michael Barnes / Cheryl Smith / Paula Mendenhall
Requalification / Three-Year Rule
- Agencies
- Exemption to Requalification or Three-Year Break
Luanne Vasquez /Paula Mendenhall
Regular Basic Course
- Curriculum Content
Michael Barnes / Cheryl Smith
Regular Basic Course
- Modular Format
Phil Caporale / Paula Mendenhall
Requalification Course Phil Caporale / Luanne Vasquez / Paula Mendanhall
Scenario Workshops Mary Brendlen
School Police Training / Campus Law Enforcement Course Phil Caporale / Paula Mendenhall
Skills Testing
- Chemical Agents/Firearms
- Defensive Tactics: Arrest / Impact
- Vehicle Operations
Michael Barnes
Specialized Investigator Basic Course (SIBC)
- Content
Scott Loggins / Paula Mendenhall
Specialized Investigator Basic Course (SIBC)
- Requalification
Paula Mendenhall
Specialized Investigator Basic Course (SIBC)
- Waiver Process
Paula Mendenhall
Basic Course Exemplars Cheryl Smith / Mary Brendlen
Waiver Process - Basic Course (BCW)
Basic Course Waiver Exam (BCWE)
Out-of-State
Reciprocity
Luanne Vasquez / Paula Mendenhall