SAFE Driving Campaign

SAFE Driving Membership Rosters

The SAFE (Situation-Appropriate, Focused, and Educated) Driving Campaign is aimed at reducing fatal and serious injury law enforcement traffic collisions nationwide.  It has three membership components to assist POST in achieving this goal: an Advisory Board concerned with national awareness efforts, a Research Team tasked with the identification of officer-involved collision causes and interventions, and a Vehicle Operations and Training Advisory Council (VOTAC) focused on the advancement of best policy and training practices.  The Motor Officer Training and Operations Review for Safety (MOTORS) Advisory Group, a subcommittee to the VOTAC, concentrates on best policy and training practices as it specifically relates to law enforcement motors.

Advisory Board

Member (Alternate)


Richard J. Ashton – Chief (ret.)

International Association of Chiefs of Police

Carol Barake - Manager, Risk Control Services

Bickmore Risk Services

Barbara Brenner - Loss Prevention  Manager

City of Sacramento

Patrick A. Burke – Assistant Chief

DC Metropolitan Police Department

Richard P. Clark - Executive Director

Nevada Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training

David Clovis - General Manager

California Joint Powers Risk Management Authority

Kevin Davis - Assistant Chief

Prince George's County Police Department (Maryland)

Craig W. Floyd – Chairman and CEO

National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund

*Michael Geraci – Director

NHTSA Office of Traffic Safety

Gordon J. Graham, Esq. – Co-President

Graham Research Consultants and Lexipol, Inc.

Stan Hilkey – Sheriff

Mesa County Sheriff’s Office (Colorado)

Colleen Mestas – Chief

Visalia Police Department

Charles E. Miller III – Coordinator

FBI Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted

Dale Stockton - Editor-in-Chief

Law Officer Magazine and

*Honorary Member


Research Team



Geoff Alpert, PhD

University of South Carolina
Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice

Tom Rice, PhD
Research Epidemiologist

University of California, Berkeley
Traffic Safety Center and Department of Environmental Sciences
Institute of Transportation Studies

Bryan Vila, PhD
Professor and Director

Washington State University, Spokane
Operational Tasks Simulation Laboratory
Sleep and Performance Research Center

Kevin Wehr, PhD
Associate Professor

California State University, Sacramento
Department of Sociology

Jerry Williams, DPA
Associate Research Professor

University of Colorado Denver
School of Public Affairs

Vehicle Operations and Training Advisory Council (VOTAC)

  • California Academy Directors Association 
    Richard Lindstrom, Director - State Center Reg. Training Center
    Greg Dossey, Director - Allan Hancock College Academy
  • California Association of Police Training Officers 
    Training Officer John Hustedde - Fresno Police Department
  • California Department of Motor Vehicles Research and Development Branch
    Robert Hagge, Research Manager
  • California Highway Patrol Academy
    Assistant Chief Brent Newman - Sergeant Robin Johnson
  • California Office of Traffic Safety
    Ed Gebing, Law Enforcement Liaison
  • California Peace Officer's Association
    Lieutenant Brian Raffish - Los Angeles Police Department
    Sergeant Kevin Rausis - San Diego Police Department
  • California Police Chiefs Association
    Chief Mark Yokoyama - Alhambra Police Department
  • California State Sheriff's Association
    Sheriff Mark Pazin - Merced County Sheriff’s Office
  • Gilroy Police Department
    Captian Scott Smithee (retired)
  • Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department
    Lieutenant Tim Leveque
  • Peace Officer's Research Association of California 
    Sergeant Rod Rifredi - Davis Police Department
  • Sacramento Police Department Academy
    Sergeant Keith Burgoon
  • San Bernardino Sheriff’s Department Academy
    John Migaiolo
  • San Jose Police Department
    Lieutenant Dave Storton (retired)
  • Solano County
    Sergeant Rustin Banks

MOTORS Advisory Group

(Motor Officer Training and Operations Review for Safety)

Member Affiliation Experience
Brian Aubuchon Sacramento Sheriff's Department Instructor
Casey Bokavich Redding Police Department Supervisor/Instructor
Dave Kinaan Retired Sergeant Supervisor/Instructor of CHP Academy Motorcycle Training Unit, Ret./Author – motorcycle safety and training/ Expert Witness
Jeffrey Houle Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department Staff Instructor – Basic/Instructor/Dual Purpose Motors Enforcement 10 years
Manny Romeral Los Angeles Police Department Office in Charge - Motorcycle Training Unit
Riding experience - Harley/Kawasaki/BMW
Mitchell Nowlen Los Angeles Police Department Instructor - Basic/Instructor/Escort and Motorcade
Police motorcycle test rider 
Patrick Tobin San Francisco Police Department Accident Investigation.  Retired motorcycle supervisor 
Rob Burlison San Diego Police Department Instructor assigned to training staff
Robert Green Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department Supervisor of LASD Motorcycle Unit
Robert Toyer Orange County Sheriff's Department Motorcycle Unit Supervisor/Instructor
Rod Rifredi Davis Police Department Supervisor/Trainer. Riding experience – Harley/Kawasaki/BMW/Honda
Shawn Maples El Cerrito Police Department  
Steve Landi Retired Sergeant Instructor
Steven Ritchey Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department Instructor
Ted White California Highway Patrol CHP Supervisor and Lead Instructor for CHP Academy Motorcycle Training Unit


POST Staff Members

(Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training)

  • Manuel Alvarez Jr.,  Executive Director
  • Tamara Baarts, Sr. Law Enforcement Consultant – Simulation Programs
  • Ralph Brown, Bureau Chief - Training Program Services
  • Janna Munk, Senior Consultant