The following questions and answers pertain specifically to becoming a California peace officer.
1. What should be considered in my decision to apply for a California peace officer position?
Individuals applying for a peace officer position in California are required to meet several statewide minimum standards for employment. These standards include:
- No felony convictions
- A fingerprint and criminal history check
- Meeting the citizenship requirement (Included are provisions for permanent resident aliens. See citizenship requirements FAQs. )
- A background investigation indicating the individual is of good moral character
- Minimum age of 18 years
- Minimum education of United States high school graduation or passage of GED test
- A medical and psychological suitability examination
- An employment interview
- A reading and writing ability test
2. The department's job flyer has higher and/or additional selection requirements over those stated above. Why aren't they the same?
Local law enforcement departments may set higher standards than the statewide minimum standards. Where there are no statewide minimum standards, the local hiring authority may set a standard, e.g. vision and hearing standards. This is why some standards vary from department to department.
3. Is the Regular Basic Course the minimum training requirement for all peace officers employed by agencies in the POST program?
For all city police officers, county sheriff deputies, and most other peace officer categories, the Regular Basic Course is the minimum entry-level training requirement. Exceptions to this would be peace officers employed by certain specialized law enforcement agencies, coroner peace officers, Reserve Level II or Level III officers, and limited function officers. To determine the minimum training requirement for the categories listed as exceptions, please contact the hiring agency or view the online POST Administrative Manual, section B (regulations). Regulation 1005 specifies the minimum training standard for full-time peace officers and Regulation 1007 specifies the minimum training standard for each level of Reserve peace officer.
4. Which basic academy does POST recommend?
POST does not make this recommendation. All presenters of a POST-certified Regular Basic Course must include the minimum training specifications adopted and incorporated into POST regulation. However, if an individual knows where he/she would like to work it may be beneficial to check with the hiring department to determine if the department requires completion of their own academy.
5. Is an individual required to complete a Basic Academy prior to applying for a peace officer position?
This varies with every agency. Some agencies will only hire individuals after they have graduated from a Basic Academy (regular basic course), while others will hire individuals and send them through an academy as trainees or cadets. Some agencies require that an individual attend the agency's Basic Academy regardless of previous completion of another Basic Academy.
6. I have completed a basic course in another state, can I transfer my training to California?
California POST does not have reciprocity with other states, nor do we have a challenge process. California POST has a Basic Course Waiver (BCW) process for individuals who want to become California peace officers and have completed at least 664 hours of general law enforcement training (including a general law enforcement basic course of at least 200 hours), and have at least one year of successful sworn general law enforcement experience. The BCW is a 4-step process that includes: self-assessment/application; POST evaluation; written and skills testing; and issuance of a waiver letter. Once the BCW process is successfully completed, the applicant receives a waiver of the California Regular Basic Course; however, acceptance of the waiver is at the discretion of the employing agency.
7. Can anyone enroll in a POST-certified Basic Academy?
Yes, however, not everyone is accepted. Every individual applying to a Basic Academy must complete a criminal history clearance. If the criminal history reveals a felony conviction, you will not be allowed to enroll in the course. Many academies administer a reading and writing test to determine the likelihood of succeeding in the training, however, it does not preclude enrollment.
8. How do I enroll for Basic training?
A list of training institutions approved to present the POST-certified Regular Basic Course is provided on the Basic Training Academies page, and also in the POST Course Catalog. You may select the institution(s) of interest and contact the training presenter to obtain information on costs and enrollment. To accommodate different working schedules, the Regular Basic Course is presented in several formats. The Intensive Format is usually a Monday-Friday schedule and during normal working hours. The Extended Format is usually evenings and weekends. The course is also presented in a modular format. Completion of Reserve Level III, II, and I modules (in that order) is the equivalent of completing the Regular Basic Course.
9. Where can I find out about job opportunities?
10. Some job flyers state that a basic certificate is required. What does this mean?
Individuals successfully completing a POST-certified Basic Course will receive a certificate of completion at the end of training, issued by the training institution. This is not to be confused with the POST Basic Certificate which is a professional certificate awarded by POST, to individuals who have completed a Basic Course and who have served as a full-time peace officer and minimally completed 12 months of probation.
Some agencies require that an individual already possess the POST Basic Certificate in order to apply for a position. This would mean that the agency is looking for someone who has been previously employed and completed probation with another agency. Some agencies do not require the POST Basic Certificate, but instead are requiring a certificate of completion for the Basic Course training. If the job flyer is not clear, an applicant should get clarification on this point.
11. How long must I serve on probation once I am employed?
Probation periods range from 12-24 months. Although a few agencies have reported a 6-month probationary period, Commission regulations require that every full-time peace officer serve in a probationary status for not less than 12 months from the date of appointment to a full-time peace officer position. Agencies that report longer than a 12-month probationary period must require their officers to complete the longer probationary period before applying for a POST Basic Certificate.
12. How do I obtain a POST Basic Certificate?
Individuals may apply for the POST Basic certificate if: 1) the criteria for the certificate is met, and 2) the individual is employed by an agency participating in the POST program at the time of application. Individuals who believe they meet the Basic Certificate criteria, i.e., successful completion of a probationary period and completion of a POST-certified Basic Course (or Basic Course Waiver), should request assistance and application forms from their agency.
13. I completed my Basic Course more than 3 years ago and have not obtained peace officer employment, is my training expired?
You will need to successfully complete the 136-hour minimum POST Requalification Course to requalify your training. Six-Year Exception: If you completed a Basic Course after July 1, 1999, you may complete the requalification course one time only. If you do not become employed in a position that requires the Basic Course within six years of your academy completion, you will need to repeat the entire Basic Course.
14. I have additional questions, does POST have an email address?
The following questions and answers pertain specifically to becoming a California Public Safety Dispatcher.
1. What should be considered in my decision to apply for a California Public Safety Dispatcher position?
Individuals applying for a public safety dispatcher position in California are required to meet several statewide minimum standards for employment. These standards include:
- fingerprint and DMV records checks
- background investigation
- medical examination
- oral communication skills evaluation (employment interview)
- verbal, reasoning, memory, and perceptual abilities assessment
2. The department's job flyer has higher and/or additional selection requirements over those stated above. Why aren't they the same?
Local law enforcement departments or communication centers may set higher standards than the statewide minimum standards. Where there are no statewide minimum standards, the local hiring authority may set a standard, e.g. psychological screening. This is why some standards vary from department to department.
3. Is the Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course the minimum training requirement for all public safety dispatchers employed by agencies in the POST program?
The Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course is the entry-level training requirement for dispatchers employed by agencies participating in POST's public safety dispatcher program, as specified in Commission Regulation 1018. Information on presenters of the POST-certified Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course can be found in the Catalog of POST Certified Courses.
4. Is an individual required to complete a Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course prior to applying for a public safety dispatcher position?
This varies with every agency. Some agencies will only hire individuals after they have successfully completed a Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course, while others will hire individuals and send them through the course. Some agencies require that an individual attend the agency's Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course regardless of previous completion of another Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course. However, Public Safety Dispatchers must complete the Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course before or within 12 months of the date of appointment [Commission Regulation 1018(c)(1)].
5. I have been a dispatcher in another state; can I transfer my experience to California?
California POST does not have a waiver process for dispatchers. All applicants must meet the California public safety dispatcher minimum selection and training standards as outlined in Commission Regulation 1956 - 1960 (selection) and Regulation 1018 (training).
6. Can anyone enroll in a POST-certified Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course?
Yes. However, applicants may want to check with the course presenter to determine specific enrollment requirements (i.e. application process, fees).
7. How do I enroll in a POST-certified Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course?
A list of training institutions approved to present the POST-certified Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course is provided in the Catalog of POST Certified Courses. You may select the institution(s) of interest and contact the training presenter to obtain information on costs and enrollment.
8. Where can I find out about job opportunities?
Current law enforcement (including dispatcher) job opportunities are available online, free of charge. A complete list of law enforcement agencies is also available; however, not all POST participating agencies are in the POST Public Safety Dispatcher program. The California Law Enforcement Employment Statistics (pdf) contains current employment information on full-time sworn, reserve peace officers and public safety dispatchers throughout California.
9. Some job flyers state that a POST Public Safety Dispatcher certificate is required. What does this mean?
Individuals successfully completing a POST-certified Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course will receive a certificate of completion at the end of training, issued by the training institution. This is not to be confused with the POST Public Safety Dispatcher Certificate which is a professional certificate awarded by POST, to individuals who have completed a POST-certified Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course and who have completed a probation period of at least 12 months. Some agencies require that an individual already possess the POST Public Safety Dispatcher Certificate in order to apply for a position. This would mean that the agency is looking for someone who has been previously employed and completed probation with another agency. Some agencies do not require the POST Public Safety Dispatcher Certificate, but instead are requiring a certificate of completion for the POST-certified Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course training. If the job flyer is not clear, an applicant should get clarification on this point.
10. How long must I serve on probation once I am employed?
11. How do I obtain a POST Public Safety Dispatcher Certificate?
The Public Safety Dispatcher Certificate is awarded, as defined in Commission Regulation 1011 to currently employed full-time dispatcher employees of an agency that participates in the POST Public Safety Dispatcher program. Applicants must have been selected in accordance with the POST selection requirements, and have satisfactorily completed the Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course and the agency's probationary period. Certificate requests are submitted by the dispatcher's employing agency.
12. I have additional questions; does POST have an email address?
13. I have been a dispatcher for a long time. Can I be grandfathered into the POST program and not be required to take the BDC?
The only time a dispatcher can be grandfathered into the POST program as a Public Safety Dispatcher is if employed by the agency at the time the agency joins the POST Dispatcher Program.
14. How do I prepare to become a dispatcher?
There are several things you can do to prepare yourself for becoming a public safety dispatcher. We strongly encourage you download and read Becoming an Exemplary Public Safety Dispatcher (pdf). There are other books and articles written than can be found on the Internet. Find an agency that permits civilian "sit-alongs" and complete one at both a large agency and a small agency.
15. Do I have to be a U.S. citizen to work as a dispatcher?
Check with the agency you are applying for or review the job announcement closely. Most agencies will require you either be a U.S. citizen or be able to demonstrate you have the legal right to work in the U.S.
16. What would disqualify me to become a dispatcher?
Agencies will differ in what disqualifies a candidate, it is best if you contact the agency you wish to work for to make that determination.
17. What is the POST Dispatcher Selection Test Battery?
1. Are resources available while I am serving abroad to help me prepare for the academy and a career in law enforcement.
2. How will the G.I. Bill or other military benefits help with my training costs?
Your veteran benefits may assist with tuition and other expenses. For details and benefit point-of-contact information, you should contact the course presenter who can provide you with further direction and specific contact information.
3. Does my military training and experience allow me to be hired directly from the military?
Although your military experience and training may benefit you in a peace officer position and enhance your resume, you are still required to complete the agency's hiring process and complete the Regular Basic Course
("Academy"). Depending on the agency and type of position you seek, academy completion may be a pre-requisite to hiring.
4. Does my specialized training in the military allow me to be an instructor once I am hired?
Some training courses, such as firearms instructor or arrest and control instructor, require the completion of specific POST courses prior to qualifying as an instructor. Non-POST certified training may be considered in determining training equivalency with POST instructor requirements. Additionally, specialized military training may be beneficial to you in your peace officer position or resume. POST Commission Regulation 1070 (c)
– equivalency process - says if the instructor course meets minimum content in Regulation 1082
, a non-POST certified instructor course may meet the 1070 requirement.
5. What happens if I am deployed or activated and must temporarily leave my basic training?
6. How do I become a California peace officer?
7. Where is academy training offered?
The POST-certified presenters of the Regular Basic Course can be found on our Basic Training Academies page
. The individual presenters should be contacted for details about entry requirements, course costs, utilizing veteran's benefits, and the availability of positions in upcoming academies.
8. Is academy training accessible to me outside of CA or online?
All presentations of the POST-certified Regular Basic Course are held at academies in California. For their location and contact information, see our Basic Training Academies page
9. Are courses required before I enter an academy?
No, POST does not have pre-requisite courses. However, this should not preclude you from continuing your education, seeking additional resources, and preparing mentally and physically for the academy and a position in law enforcement.
10. How do I contact an academy?
11. How do I find agencies that are hiring?
Agencies currently hiring can be found on our "California Law Enforcement Job Opportunities
. (Note: this list is not an all exclusive list of California Law Enforcement vacancies.) Also, the personnel and Human Resources departments of many cities and counties allow you to apply for a position and/or register your interest for positions on line. Registering will ensure you are notified when testing for a position begins. Visit the specific sites for the agencies you are interested in for further information about their hiring process.
All course control numbers are made up of 14 numerical digits. The first four digits identify the course presenter. The second five digits identify the individual course number (i.e. "Traffic Collision Investigation" course number is "33590"). These two elements are referred to as the Course Certification Number. The last five digits are the fiscal year (two digits) followed by the presentation number (three digits). The entire 14-digit number is referred to as the Course Control Number. The Course Certification Number is given to a presenter when the course is certified, and the Course Control Number is assigned when a Course Announcement and Hourly Distribution are received.
To obtain a Course Control number, an agency or presenter can:
- Look up the course on the Catalog of Certified Courses.
- Check the Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) system.
- Refer to the original Course Certification Letter for the Course Certification Number, and contact the POST Course Control Unit for the complete Course Control Number.
For courses not listed in the Course Catalog or other Course-related questions, please contact the Course Control Unit directly at (916) 227-4860 or (916) 227-4866, or the Training Delivery and Compliance Bureau at (916) 227-4863.
The following information provides answers to the most frequently asked questions related to POST profiles:
1. What is a POST Profile?
A POST Profile is a computer database record that provides the history of an individual's California law enforcement employment, POST professional certificates, and POST-certified training.
2. How do I request a POST Profile?
Profiles are confidential records available only to the subject individual or the individual's current employer (POST-participating department only). All "other requesters" must provide POST with an authorization to release information, signed by the subject individual. Those who do not have a signed authorization must comply with the requirements specified in California Evidence Code Section 1043.
Profiles are available for immediate download by law enforcement personnel throughout California. The download is secure and encrypted, allowing access only by authorized users. A Profile download requires a PASS account which may be created on the POST Website. Once a PASS account is created users must link their POST ID to their PASS account to download their Profile.
Alternatively law enforcement personnel may submit a request for a profile to be mailed. To receive a mailed copy, complete, sign, and send a POST Profile Request 2-126 form provided on this website to POST. When specific course verification is needed; e.g., PC 832 course verification, please provide the name of the course, the name of the training institution, and the completion date of the training you are attempting to verify in the "Questions/Comments" section at the bottom of the form. You may also use this section for any other questions or to request the profile be sent by email.
3. Is there a fee for requesting a POST Profile?
There is no fee for a POST profile.
4. Is there a fee for notary services?
POST does not provide notary services.
5. What is the mailing address?
Commission on POST Attn: Administrative Services Bureau
860 Stillwater Road, Suite 100, West Sacramento, CA 95605
6. What is the processing time?
The profile is usually available within 10 days from the date POST receives the request.
7. Can I FAX or email the request?
POST will accept faxes at (916) 227-3895 or emails to Profile Requests. Because email and FAX transmittals are not secure, your personal information could be at risk. POST does not take responsibility for information sent via email or FAX. Instant downloading of your POST Profile is available through the POST Website to law enforcement personnel who create a PASS account and link their POST ID. If you work for a POST-participating department that has access to the Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) System, you may be able to obtain your profile more expeditiously within your department.
8. Can a POST-participating agency request profiles for the entire agency?
Yes, an agency may request profiles for all agency employees or a specific employee category; i.e., sworn peace officers only, reserve peace officers only, records supervisors, or dispatchers only. Agency requests must be submitted on agency letterhead and must be signed by the department head or designee. Agencies using the Training Management System (TMS) software may request profile information formatted for that system. Agencies participating in the POST Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) System may immediately access agency-specific, POST profiles using EDI when only a few profiles are needed. Alternatively, instant downloading of each users POST Profile is available through the POST Website to law enforcement personnel who create a PASS account and link their POST ID.
Questions not answered by the information in this FAQ section may be directed to Profile Requests.
POST defines "backfill reimbursement" as the reimbursable allowance for an agency's expense of paying salary at the overtime rate to a peace officer employee who replaces another peace officer employee for his/her attendance of selected POST-certified training.
Which POST-certified training courses qualify for backfill?
Courses that qualify for backfill
Do I have to be a United States citizen to be a California law enforcement officer, or can I be a legal resident alien and still apply for a peace officer position in California?
In accordance with Government Code Section 1031 and 1031.5, to be appointed as a peace officer in California, you must be a citizen of the United States or a permanent resident alien who is eligible for and has applied for citizenship. Citizenship status must be conferred within three years of applying for citizenship. Additional citizenship requirements are stipulated for California Highway patrol officers, who must be U.S. citizens at the time of appointment (per Vehicle Code Section 2267).
California Citizenship Requirements
California Government Code Section 1031 and 1031.5 states that a peace officer shall be a citizen of the United States or a permanent resident alien who is eligible for and has applied for citizenship.
- Any permanent resident alien who is employed as a peace officer shall diligently cooperate with the Immigration and Naturalization Service in the processing of his or her application for citizenship and shall be disqualified from holding that position if, three years after the filing of an application for employment, the person has not obtained citizenship due to failure to cooperate in the process of the application for citizenship.
- Any permanent resident alien who is employed as a peace officer shall be disqualified from holding that position if his or her application for citizenship is denied.
Information on obtaining citizenship can be found on the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
Additional Requirements: A peace officer with the California Highway Patrol, per Vehicle Code 2267, must be a U.S. citizen at the time of appointment.
Questions about peace officer citizenship requirements may be directed to your Regional Consultant
1. Does POST require a physical ability test?
No, POST does not require a physical ability test prior to hire. However, many agencies administer their own physical ability test during the selection process.
2. How can I get information on physical ability tests that agencies may require?
You should contact the law enforcement agencies directly for information on their specific physical performance requirements.
3. Does the academy require a physical ability test?
Yes, the academy requires a physical ability test at the conclusion of the POST-required physical conditioning program.
4. What are the academy physical conditioning requirements?
The physical conditioning program consists of aerobic, strength, muscular endurance, and flexibility conditioning. Usually, jogging is the mode of aerobic conditioning. Calisthenics circuit training or weight circuit training is most commonly used for strength and muscular endurance conditioning. Static stretching is the usual mode of flexibility conditioning.
5. How should I prepare myself for the academy physical conditioning program?
Students who are engaged in a vigorous lifetime fitness program generally do not have any problems with the POST-required academy physical conditioning program. It is nearly impossible, though, for sedentary individuals to complete the program without problems. For best results, your exercise program should already match the descriptions below.
- Aerobic conditioning, 3-5 days per week, 20-60 minutes each day, continuous jogging on most days each week
- Muscular strength/endurance, 2-3 days per week, one set of 8-10 exercises including upper body, core, and legs, 8-20 repetitions per set
- Flexibility, static stretching, at least 2-3 days per week, preferably 5-7 days, 8-12 stretches each day, hold each stretch for 15-30 seconds and repeat each 2-4 times
- Continuous participation at the above-described levels for the last six months without injury
If your exercise program does not meet these specifications, then you should consider taking a body conditioning, weight training, or jogging class as needed.
Law Enforcement Officers Flying Armed
The Office of Law Enforcement/Federal Air Marshal Service maintains oversight of the Law Enforcement Officers flying armed program under Title 49 Code of Federal Regulation (CFR) § 1544.219 Carriage of Accessible Weapons. The following information is intended to assist law enforcement agencies and officers to comply with Federal Regulation.
1. What are the requirements for a state or local Law Enforcement Officer to fly armed?
The Requirements for a LEO to fly armed aboard commercial aircraft are outlined in 49 CFR § 1544.219 Carriage of Accessible Weapons.
To qualify to fly armed, Federal Regulation states that an officer must meet the following basic requirements:
- Be a Federal LEO or a full-time municipal, county, or state LEO who is a direct employee of a government agency;
- Be sworn and commissioned to enforce criminal statutes or immigration statutes;
- Be authorized by the employing agency to have the weapon in connection with assigned duties; and
- Have completed the authorized TSA training program entitled "Law Enforcement Officers Flying Armed." Refer to the TSA training website at LEOFA@dhs.gov or contact the Federal Air Marshal Service at (855) FLY-LEOS (359-5367) for further information.
2. What are the procedures for a state or local Law Enforcement Officer (LEO) to fly armed?
- Have the operational need to fly armed;
- The LEO's employing agency transmits a properly formatted message, via National Law Enforcement Telecommunications System (NLETS);
- An NLETS message, with Unique Identifier, is transmitted from the Transportation Security Operations Center to the LEO's employing agency;
- On the day of travel, the LEO must:
- Check-in at the airline ticket counter
- Present identification
- Fill out the armed traveler paperwork provided by the airline, referred to as Person Carrying Firearms (PCFA) forms. (Note: Each airline has its own specific PCFA paperwork.)
- Proceed to the Armed LEO Screening Checkpoint
- At the Armed LEO Screening Checkpoint, the LEO must:
- Provide the Unique Identifier from the NLETS message
- Display his/her badge, credentials, boarding pass, a second form of government identification, and required airline PCFA forms
- The LEO will complete the LEO Logbook and proceed to the boarding gate; and
- At the boarding gate, the LEO will provide the Gate Agent with the airline's armed traveler paperwork PCFA form and follow further boarding procedures.
3. When should the NLETS message regarding armed LEO travel be submitted?
It is recommended that agencies transmit the NLETS message a minimum of 24 hours prior to travel to ensure routing of the information prior to day of travel.
4. What if a LEO has not submitted an NLETS message but does have the Original Letter of Authority from his Chief or Agency Head?
The Original Letter of Authority is no longer required. NLETS replaces the letter.
5. What happens if a LEO advises that his/her employing agency sent an NLETS message but does not know the Unique Identifier?
The LEO will be asked to contact the employing agency to obtain the Unique Identifier.
6. What is the three letter airport code that is required in the NLETS message and where can I find these codes?
The airport code is a three letter designator for a commercial airport. These are the codes that airlines and pilots use to identify airports and are used in timetables, baggage tags, tickets, advertisements, airline and global reservation systems. There are approximately 9,000 codes currently in use.
The Federal Aviation Administration three letter airport codes can also be found on airlines websites, on travel itineraries, or by searching the internet.
The Federal Aviation Administration website identifies every "known and recognized U.S. airport" that is covered by this flying armed procedure.
This procedure applies for every TSA-screened airport and every commercial aviation flight.
7. What if a LEO experiences an unexpected itinerary change (weather, delays, re-routing)?
If the change(s) does not affect the Date of Travel, the existing NLETS message will be accepted as long as the LEO is traveling through the same airports.
If the date of travel or airport information changes, a new NLETS message will be required.
8. Do these procedures have to be followed for each departure and returning flight or will one authorization number cover both departure and return?
One NLETS number is required for each date flying armed regardless of the number of travel legs. If an extradition requires an overnight stay, a second NLETS number is needed for the return trip.
9. Are there additional procedures for international travel required to conduct official law enforcement business?
No. International travelers should not travel armed as they are subject to the laws of the foreign nation immediately upon arrival and, generally, will be subject to arrest.
10. Please define "required training." Is there any waiver procedure for officers who have not completed training but may be required to travel immediately?
No. There is no waiver of the required training. The failure to complete the training will prevent one from flying armed. The training is available from the Federal Air Marshal Service. The program training material may be obtained by emailing the Office of Law Enforcement/Federal Air Marshal Service (OLE/FAMS), Office of Training and Workforce Programs, at firstname.lastname@example.org. For general questions or guidance related to LEOs flying armed or for time sensitive training requests, please contact the OLE/FAMS at (855) FLY-LEOS (359-5367) or LEOFA@dhs.gov.
11. HR 218 allows retired officers to carry a firearm. What procedures are in place for retired personnel who are legally authorized to carry a firearm to fly armed?
Although HR 218 permits a retired officer to carry a weapon, a retired officer is excluded from flying armed. Retired officers must place their non-loaded weapon inside a locked gun case and place it inside checked luggage. The weapon MUST be declared with the airline at the time of check in.
12. Does the NLETS message replace the requirement to notify the airline of the Law Enforcement Officer's (LEO) intent to fly armed or complete the required paperwork?
No. A LEO with an operational need to travel armed must present acceptable credentials to the airline as outlined in 49 CFR § 1544.219. In addition, a LEO must complete any required airline paperwork, referred to as Person Carrying Firearm (PCFA) forms. (Note: Each airline provides its own specific PCFA paperwork.)
Who to Contact
For general questions or guidance related to Law Enforcement Officers flying armed, please contact the Office of Law Enforcement/Federal Air Marshal Service at (855) FLY-LEOS (359-5367) or LEOFA@dhs.gov.
POST ID: (Alpha## - Alpha##)
The purpose of the POST ID is to provide a unique identifier for law enforcement personnel so that a SSN is no longer needed. The POST ID is created when a person is first appointed to a POST agency or takes a POST certified course.
Obtain A POST ID:
To obtain your POST ID please contact your agency's Training Manager or you may use our POST ID lookup. If you are unable to do so you may contact our support team at (916) 227-4357.
1. Does this training requirement apply to all ranks (Chiefs, Sheriffs, captains, etc.) and all types (reserves, detectives, DA investigators, etc.) of peace officers?
Yes, the law, Penal Code (PC) §13519.8 and Vehicle Code (VC) §17004.7, requires all peace officers to receive the training annually in order to qualify for immunity.
2. Does the training have to be POST-certified?
No, POST will not certify the pursuit policy to comply with Penal Code (PC) §13519.8 and Vehicle Code (VC) §17004.7.
3. Does my trainer/facilitator have to be a POST-Certified Instructor?
No, you may use any trainer/facilitator.
4. By what date does the Pursuit Policy training need to be completed?
Training needs to be completed annually.
5. What are the minimum hours for this training?
POST Regulation 1081 states that the training has to be at least one (1) hour in duration.
6. What content will be addressed in the training?
Per POST Regulation 1081:
- Vehicle safety, operation, and tactics
- Agency vehicle pursuit policy
- Assessing risk, dangers, and conditions
- Public safety
- Officer safety
- Importance of balancing the known offense and need for apprehension against the risks to officers and the public
- Consideration of law enforcement vehicle pursuit issues
- When to initiate a pursuit
- The number of involved law enforcement units permitted
- Responsibilities of primary and secondary law enforcement
- Driving tactics
- Helicopter assistance
- Capture of suspects
- Termination of a pursuit
- Supervisory responsibilities
- Blocking, ramming, boxing, and roadblock procedures
- Speed limits
- Inter-jurisdictional considerations
- Conditions of the vehicle, driver, roadway, weather, and traffic
- Hazards to uninvolved bystanders or motorists
- Reporting and post pursuit analysis
7. Does an agency need to do anything besides provide the training?
Yes, agencies must provide all peace officers with a copy of the agency pursuit policy. Peace officers must also sign an attestation form (doc) that states they have "received, read, and understand" the agency pursuit policy. The agency must retain this form. Please DO NOT send attestation forms to POST.
8. How is the training delivered and who may deliver the training?
There are at least four ways to deliver your Pursuit Policy training. Some have instructor requirements.
Here is a summary of options/requirements to fulfill the mandated training in Penal Code (PC) §13519.8 and Vehicle Code (VC) §17004.7:
In-house, non-certified training (no instructor restrictions), content restrictions as described in question #6.
9. Where can I get the POST Law Enforcement Vehicle Pursuit Guidelines?
The POST Law Enforcement Vehicle Pursuit Guidelines (pdf) are on our website.
10. Will POST review my agency's pursuit policy?
No, POST recommends that your agency retain competent legal counsel.
11. Who should my agency contact if we still have questions?
Training managers or agency executives may contact a Regional Training Consultant for more information.
|Baton Certificates (Security Guards)
Dept of Consumer Affairs Bureau of Investigations
Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation
Office of Training and Professional Development
|Criminal History Clearance, Requests
Department of Justice
|Criminal History Database
Department of Justice
|District Attorney's Association:
California District Attorneys Association
|EMSA Certificate (First Aid / CPR)
Emergency Medical Services Authority
|Fingerprinting (Law Enforcement)
CA Dept of Justice
|Guard Cards, Private Security Officer Training
Dept of Consumer Affairs Bureau of Investigations
|Indian Reservations – Public Law 280
|Legal Sourcebook, CA Peace Officers (CPOLS)
(916) 227- 2085
|Public Hearing Inquiries
|Tribal Law Enforcement
|West Point Leadership Program
Los Angeles Police Department