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The Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) has revised the proposed 
regulations for Definitions, Training for Non-Sworn and Paraprofessional Personnel, and 
Reimbursements. The original bulletin 2015-17 with notice of proposed regulatory action for this 
topic was published on August 14, 2015. All related documents are available at 
http://www.post.ca.gov/regulatory-actions.aspx and also includes the supplement to the Initial 
Statement of Reasons (ISOR) which has been added to the rulemaking file. The supplement to the 
ISOR is also available at the address identified below. 

 
The attached changes to the regulation text will accomplish the following:  

 
• Add specific language for clarity and remove unclear language. 

• Make format changes for consistency.  

• Revise the effective date of the incorporation of PAM Section E into regulation due to a new 
approval date.  

• Change the dates of the Presenter Reimbursement Request form 2-243 (Rev 04/2015) to 
remove “Rev” to indicate it is a new form with the adoption date of 04/2015.  

• The original Training Reimbursement Request form 2-273 (05/2010) requires an earlier 
adoption date of 08/1993.  

• Add Reg 1003 Employment Status Notifications, section (a)(1) to revise the date of the 
revision to Notice of Appointment/Termination form POST 2-114 from 08/2008 to 02/2013. 

• Add Regulation 1055(g) Required Documents to Submit Upon Completion of Presentation, 
section (g)(1) to revise the date of the revision to Training Reimbursement Request form 
POST 2-273 from 8/93 to 04/2015. 

Update to Forms Incorporated by Reference 

 Below is an update to the list provided in the 45-day notice of forms incorporated by 
reference. 

Attachment B-2 – Training Reimbursement Request form POST 2-273 (05/2010 rev 08/1993)  

The 45-day notice incorrectly identified the revision date of this form. The correct revision 
date is 8/93, which is mentioned in section 1055(g)(1). The 8/93 version of POST 2-273 is 
being replaced with a newer version revised 04/2015. 

Attachment C-1 – Presenter Reimbursement Request (PRR) form POST 2-243 (Rev 04/2015) 
Attachment C-2 -- Presenter Reimbursement Request (PRR) form POST 2-243 (04/2014) 

Attachment C-2 was mistakenly identified as a form incorporated by reference in the CCR. 
The 04/2015 version of this form Attachment C-1 is newly adopted in this rulemaking. 

Attachment D-1 – Notice of Appointment/Termination (NOAT), POST 2-114 (08/2008) 
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http://www.post.ca.gov/regulatory-actions.aspx�


Availability of Modified Text for Definitions,Training for Non-Sworn and Paraprofessional 
Personnel, and Reimbursements 

 

The mission of the California Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training is to continually enhance  
the professionalism of California law enforcement in serving its communities.  

2 
 

 

The 45-day notice identified the revision date of this form as (Rev 02/2013) in section 
1015(b)(10). Regulation 1003(a)(1) shows the original date of this form as (08/2008). 

Attachment D-2 NOAT form POST 2-114 (Rev 02/2013) 

The 08/2008 version of POST 2-114 is incorporated by reference in section 1003(a)(1). 
This form is being updated to the version of the form revised on 02/2013. Section 
1003(a)(1) is being amended accordingly.  

 
POST will accept written comments regarding the proposed changes that are the topic of this 15-day 
notice and the supplement to the Initial Statement of Reasons between January19, 2016 and  
February 3, 2016 at 5:00 p.m. Submit all written comments to Patti Kaida at patti.kaida@post.ca.gov 
or via U.S. mail to: 
 

Patti Kaida, Associate Analyst 
Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training 
860 Stillwater Road, Suite 100 
West Sacramento, CA  95605-1630 

 
All written comments received by 5:00 p.m. on February 3, 2016, which pertain to the indicated 
changes and the supplement to the Initial Statement of Reasons will be reviewed and responded to 
by POST as part of the compilation of the rulemaking file. In regards to the modified text, please limit 
your comments to the modifications which appear as double underlines or strikeouts to indicate 
changes to the proposed reimbursements language. Single strikeout or underline symbols indicate 
originally proposed text changes.  

 
Attachment
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TEXT 
 

Text proposed to be added for the 45-day comment period is displayed in underline type. 
Text proposed to be added for the 15-day comment period is displayed in double underline type. 
Text proposed to be deleted for the 15-day comment period is displayed in double strikeout type.  
 
1001.  Definitions. 
  
[1001 “Academy Coordinator” through “Reimbursement Program” continued] 
 

“Reimbursement Plans” are assigned to POST-certified courses. Each plan consists of a combination of 
training-related expenditures approved by the Commission. The various plans are set forth in 
Commission Procedure E-2 Regulation 1015(c)(2)
 

. 

[1001 “Resident Trainee” through “Web- Based Training (WBT)” continued to the end] 
 
Note: Authority cited: Sections 13506 and 13510.3, Penal Code. Reference: Sections 13503, 13507, 13510, 13510.1, 
13510.3, 13510.5, and 13523, Penal Code. 

 
1003. Employment Status Notifications. 
 

(a)  Employment Status Notification Requirements 
 

 (1) Peace Officers, Reserve Peace Officers, Public Safety Dispatchers, and Records Supervisors 
The employing department shall submit a Notice of Appointment/Termination, POST 2-114 
(08/2008Rev 02/2013) to POST within 30 days, via the POST Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) 
system when personnel actions listed below occur. 
 
The Notice of Appointment/Termination (NOAT) form may be mailed to POST if the department is 
not registered for EDI access. The NOAT, POST 2-114 (08/2008Rev 02/2013), is herein 
incorporated by reference. 
 

[1003(a)(1)(A) continued to the end] 
 

Note: Authority cited: Section 13506, Penal Code. Reference: Sections 13512 and 13510.3, Penal Code. 
 

1014. Reimbursement for Training for of
 

 Non-Sworn and Paraprofessional Personnel. 

(a) Reimbursement shall be provided to Regular Program eligible agencies as defined in California 
Penal Code Section 13523 for the training of non-sworn personnel performing police tasks and 
paraprofessional personnel attending the Basic Course, as provided for by Regulation 1014(a)(1)-
(9)

 
 and Regulation 1015 and POST Administrative Manual Section E-1-4a. 

(1) 

 

The training shall be specific to the task currently being performed by an employee or may be 
training specific to a future assignment which is actually being planned. 

(2) 

 

Non-sworn personnel may attend the courses identified in Regulation 1005(a), (b), (c), (d), 
and, (e), but reimbursement shall not be provided except as indicated in Regulation 
1014(a)(3), (4), and (5). 

(3) 

 

Police Trainees, Police Cadets, and/or Community Service Officers, may attend a certified 
Basic Course and reimbursement shall be provided to the agency participating in the POST 
Reimbursable Program in accordance with the regular reimbursement procedures up to the 
maximum hours as listed in Regulation 1015(d)(2). 

http://lib.post.ca.gov/publications/pam/section_b.pdf�
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(4) With pre-approval from POST staff, an agency participating in the POST Reimbursable 
Program shall be reimbursed for a full-time, non-sworn employee assigned to a middle 
management or higher position to attend a POST-certified Management Course. 
Reimbursement shall be the same as for a regular officer in an equivalent position. Requests 
for approval shall be submitted in writing to POST, Management Counseling, Leadership 
Development Bureau, at least 30 days prior to the start of the course. 

 

Requests for approval must include required information as specified in Regulation 1015(b). 
Approval will be based on submission of written documentation specifying that the non-sworn 
manager is filling a full-time position with functional responsibility in the organization above 
the position of first-line supervisor. 

(5) 

 

With pre-approval from POST staff, an agency participating in the POST Reimbursable 
Program shall be reimbursed for a full-time, non-sworn employee assigned to an executive 
position, as defined in Regulation 1001, to attend a POST-certified Executive Development 
Course. Reimbursement shall be the same as for a regular officer in an equivalent position. 
Reimbursement shall be made only when the employee has completed a POST-certified 
Management Course as a prerequisite to attendance in the Executive Development Course, 
as required by Regulation 1005(e). 

 

Requests for approval shall be submitted in writing to POST, Management Counseling, 
Leadership Development Bureau, at least 30 days prior to the start of the course. Requests 
for approval must include such information as specified in Regulation 1014(b). Approval will 
be based on submission of written documentation that the non-sworn executive is filling a 
full-time position with the functional responsibility in the organization equivalent to the rank of 
captain or above. 

(6)   

 

Non-sworn employees of an agency participating in the POST Reimbursable Program who 
perform police tasks, and who will be assigned, or who are already assigned, to the following 
job classes are eligible, without prior approval from POST staff, to attend training courses 
specific to their job assignments. Their respective agencies shall receive reimbursement for 
completion of POST-certified courses. 

Administrative Positions 
Criminalist 
Community Service Officer  
Evidence Technician  
Fingerprint Technician 
Identification Technician 
Jailer  
Parking Control Officer 
Polygraph Examiner 
Records Clerk 
Records Supervisor 
School Resource Officer 

 
Traffic Director and Control Officer 

(7)   

 

Reimbursement for training which is not specific to one of the job classes enumerated in the 
above paragraph must be approved by POST staff on an individual basis prior to the 
beginning of the course. Requests for approval shall be submitted in the manner required in 
Regulation 1014(b). 
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(8)   A full-time public safety dispatcher as defined in Regulation 1001, from an agency 
participating in the POST Reimbursable Program, may shall

 

 attend the POST-certified Public 
Safety Dispatcher Basic Course required by Regulation 1018. The agency shall be 
reimbursed for allowable training expenses up to the maximum hours listed in Regulation 
1015(d)(2). 

(9)   

 

Public safety dispatchers from an agency participating in the POST Reimbursable Program 
may attend POST-certified seminars and technical courses specific to their assignments 
without prior approval from POST staff and their respective agencies shall be reimbursed. If 
such seminars and courses are not specific to public safety dispatcher assignments, 
reimbursement must be approved by POST staff prior to attendance at the course. Requests 
for approval shall be submitted in the manner required in Regulation 1014 (b). 

(b) Requests for Approval 
 

(1) Non-Sworn or Paraprofessional Personnel  If required pursuant to this regulation, 
Whenever it is necessary for the employing jurisdiction agency requesting reimbursement 
shall to obtain prior written approval from the Commission POST staff for non-sworn or 
paraprofessional personnel to attend reimbursable training,. tThe agency shall include the 
following information

 

 in the approval request the following information regarding each 
individual. (See PAM, section E-1-4a.) 

(A) The Trainee’s Name and Job Title. 
(B) Job Description. 
(C) Course Title, Location, and Dates of Presentation. 

 

(2) Requests for approval must reach the Commission POST staff

 

 30 days prior to the starting 
date of the course. 

(c) Reimbursement 
 
(1) Reimbursement for non-sworn and paraprofessional personnel shall be is computed in the 

same manner (except as noted below) as for sworn personnel according to the 
reimbursement plan for each course appropriate for the employee’s classification as set forth 
in the POST Administrative Manual, Section E-1-4a Regulation 1015

 
. 

(2) No reimbursement is provided for the training of non-sworn personnel for expenses 
associated with courses enumerated in Regulation 1005(a), (b), (c), (d)., and (e), except as 
provided in Regulation 1014(a)(3), (4), and (5).

 

 PAM, section E-1-4a (3), (4), and (5). PAM 
section E-1-4a adopted effective April 15, 1982, and amended 5-1-87 is herein incorporated 
by reference. 

PAM section E-1-4(a) adopted effected April 15, 1982 and amended May 31, 1987, October 10, 1990, January 
21, 1994, August 1, 2005, and August 26, 2006 is herein incorporated by reference.  PAM Section E incorporated 
into Regulation 1014 effective October 1, 2015 April 1, 2016

 

. 

Note: Authority cited: 13503, 13506, and 13510,. Penal Code.  Reference: Sections 13503, 13506, and 13523, 
Penal Code. 

 
1015. Reimbursements for Training
 

. 

http://lib.post.ca.gov/publications/pam/section_b.pdf�
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(a) Proportionate Reimbursement 
 

Reimbursements to cities, counties, and districts shall be granted by the Commission in accordance 
with Penal Code section 13523 Penal Code. Agencies participating in the POST Reimbursable 
Program 

(1) Marshals’ and district attorneys’ departments are included in the Regular Program for 
reimbursement even though individual officers employed by the agencies have retained 
specialized peace officer classification. 

 and/or POST-approved training presenters shall be reimbursed from the Peace Officer 
Training Fund for allowable expenditures incurred for training in POST-certified courses only as 
defined in Regulation 1001. Reimbursement is based upon fund availability as approved by the 
Commission. 

 
(2) An agency participating in the POST Reimbursable Program jurisdiction that employs limited 

function peace officers as defined in Regulation 1001 shall

 

may be reimbursed for allowable 
expenses of these officers that are related to attendance of POST-certified courses. 

(b) General Reimbursement Requirements

 

 for Travel, Subsistence, Commuter Lunch, Tuition 
and Back-fill Salary 

(1) Requests for Rreimbursement 
 

(A) Agencies participating in the POST Reimbursable Program who request reimbursement 
for their employees attending POST-certified training courses shall do so Each request for 
reimbursement must be submitted on a Training Reimbursement Request (TRR) form, 
POST 2-273 (Rev 04/2015), herein incorporated by reference. provided by the 
Commission and submitted to the training institution at the beginning of a POST-certified 
training course. No further action is required by the participating jurisdiction to receive 
reimbursement except for those courses requiring a report to POST as a condition of 
successful completion, such as Field Management Training and Team Building 
Workshops. Upon completion of the training, reimbursement will be automatically 
computed and paid to the jurisdiction.  The TRR may be submitted to the training course 
presenter at the time of the course, or be mailed directly to POST. Upon receipt of the 
course roster from the training course presenter verifying successful completion of the 
course, reimbursement will be computed and paid to the requesting agency. Courses 
such as Field Management Training and Team Building Workshops require a report to be 
submitted to POST staff as a condition of successful completion of the training course. 
Reimbursement will occur upon receipt of the report.

 

  

(B) 

 

POST-approved Training Course Presenter requests for reimbursement shall be 
submitted to POST on the Commission-approved Presenter Reimbursement Request 
(PRR) form, POST 2-243 (Rev 04/2015), herein incorporated by reference, along with the 
course budget approved during the course certification process attached to the PRR. This 
form applies to Plan V courses only. 

(2) Training Eexpenses Mmay Bbe Cclaimed Oonly Oonce 
 

Agencies participating in the POST Reimbursable Program shall not receive reimbursement 
for subsequent attendance by a trainee in a course if the trainee has previously attended the 
same course. Exceptions to this regulation are courses that are authorized to be repeated 
periodically such as seminars and Advanced Officer Courses as defined in Procedure D-2-2.  
When a trainee has attended a course certified by the Commission for which reimbursement 
has been legally requested and paid, an employing jurisdiction may not receive 
reimbursement for subsequent attendance by the same trainee of the same course except 
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where attendance of the course is authorized to be repeated periodically, such as for 
Seminars, Advanced Officer Courses, and selected Technical Courses which deal with laws, 
court decisions, procedures, techniques and equipment which are subject to rapid 
development or change. Exceptions or special circumstances must be approved by the 
Executive Director prior to beginning the training course. 

 
(3) Reimbursement is provided only for expenses related to attendance of POST certified 

courses. 

(43) Reimbursement may shall

 

 be provided only for satisfactorily completed training acquired by 
full-time employees in an on-duty status. See the POST Administrative Manual, section E-1-
4(c) and (e), (adopted effective April 15, 1982), herein incorporated by reference. 

(54) Reimbursement may for partial completion of the POST-certified Basic Course shall be made 
to an agency participating in the POST Reimbursable Program jurisdiction which terminates a 
basic course trainee, allows a trainee to resign prior to completion of a certified basic course, 
or if the trainee is unable to complete a certified basic course due to illness, injury, or other 
physical or academic deficiency, provided the background investigation requirements of 
Regulation 1953 and 1959 or Regulation 1018(c), respectively, (based on the applicability of 
the regulation to the classification of the trainee) have been completed prior to the date the 
trainee was appointed and the date the course began. The remaining reimbursement 
entitlement for a trainee eligible to be re-enrolled mayshall

 

 be applied to attendance of any 
certified basic course which is subsequently attended by the trainee. 

(6) Reimbursement may be paid to a jurisdiction when a peace officer trainee fails a certified 
Basic Course only because of not passing a locally required training subject(s), but the 
trainee otherwise satisfactorily completes the course. 

 
(75) When a peace officer trainee has attended a POST certified  basic course for which 

reimbursement has been provided, an agency participating in the POST Reimbursable 
Program employing jurisdiction mayshall receive reimbursement for subsequent attendance 
of a POST certified  basic training course by the same trainee who has a three-year or longer 
break in service as a peace officer and must be retrained (sectionRegulation

 

 1008(b)). 

(6) Within the provisions established by the Commission, an agency participating in the POST 
Reimbursable Program shall receive reimbursement for travel (mileage), subsistence (lodging 
and meals), commuter lunch, and tuition, only when the trainee satisfactorily completes the 
POST-certified training course. Reimbursement for partial completion of a basic course shall 
be allowed pursuant to Regulation 10145(b)(4).

 
  

(87)    Reimbursement for partial completion of a certified Motorcycle Training Course or instructor 
training courses may be provided if the trainee fails to complete the course due to an inability 
to perform the skills required for successful completion. The POST Executive Director is 
authorized administrative discretion regarding reimbursement involving partial completion of a 
certified Motorcycle Training Course.

 
POST-certified courses. 

(9)  A Drug Asset Forfeiture Account is established for all money accruing to the Peace Officers' 
Training Fund from drug asset forfeitures. Funds within the Drug Asset Forfeiture Account will 
be distributed to cities, counties, and districts participating in the POST program under Penal 
Code section 13522, and to State agencies, as partial reimbursement of costs incurred by 
full-time peace officers who complete drug training courses. Annual reimbursement from this 
account will be made for completion of any POST-certified narcotics and dangerous drug 
course. Excluded are courses not specifically certified as drug courses and for which POST is 
unable to track attendance by course content. 
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(108) Reimbursement is authorized for California law enforcement agencies participating in the 
POST Reimbursable Program in counties bordering states contiguous to California, and 
whose officers attend California

 

 POST-certified training courses in those states (Oregon, 
Nevada, and Arizona). Agencies in other than contiguous counties may be reimbursed only if 
the Executive Director or his designee grants prior approval. Prior approval will be granted 
only upon showing a special need. 

(9) 

 

An agency participating in the POST Reimbursable Program that employs a trainee on a full-
time basis, whose salary is paid by a source other than the agency, such as a federal grant or 
other outside funding source, is not eligible to receive POST reimbursement for expenditures 
covered by the grant. 

(10) 

 

Reimbursement shall not be approved for training of any peace officer unless the agency 
participating in the POST Reimbursable Program has notified POST of the officer’s 
appointment by submitting a Notice of Appointment/Termination form, POST 2-114 (Rev 
02/2013) through the POST Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) system or by submitting the 
form via mail to POST. 

(c) 
 

Reimbursement Plans 

(1) 

 

POST reimbursement for training expenditures of agencies participating in the POST 
Reimbursable Program and/or POST-approved Training Presenters shall be based on 
schedules known as “plans”. Each plan varies in the amount and/or category of expenses that 
may be reimbursed by POST. The categories of expense/allowances that may be reimbursed 
are: subsistence (lodging and meals), commuter lunch, travel (mileage), tuition, back-fill 
salary, and training presentation costs. The five reimbursement plans that have been adopted 
by the Commission are designated as Plan I, II, III, IV, and V as follows: 

(2) 

 

Plans 

Reimbursement Plan I Plan II Plan III Plan IV Plan V 

X Subsistence X X X X 

X Commuter Lunch X X X X 

X Travel X X X X 

X Tuition  X   

X Back-Fill Salary X    
Training Presentation Costs 
[refer to Regulation 1015(c)  (3)]    X 

 

 
Each plan is subject to the provisions established by the Commission. 

(c3) Reimbursement for Ttraining Ppresentation Ccosts 
 

(Plan V) 

(1) With the exception of tuition-based courses, contract courses, and Web-Based self-paced 
Ttraining, an agency presenter, college, university, private presenter, other public entity, and 
joint powers agency may receive reimbursement for up to the actual course presentation 
costs [refer to Regulation 1001] for expenses incurred in training full-time employees from 
agencies eligible for POST reimbursement. 

 

POST-approved training presenters submitting a 
Presenter Reimbursement Request (PRR) form, POST 2-243 (Rev 04/2015) shall include the 
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actual course presentation costs as defined in Regulation 1001, to include subsistence 
(lodging and meals) and travel (mileage) costs related to course presentation.

(2)  Training presentation reimbursement shall be monitored by the POST program manager. 

   

 

(d) 
 

Reimbursement Rates 

(1) 
 

Maximum reimbursement rates 

 

The maximum amounts reimbursed for approved expense categories are approved by the 
Commission and current rates shall be posted on the POST Website.  

The maximum amounts reimbursed for approved expense categories are the following: 
 

Expense Reimbursement Rate 
Back-Fill Reimbursement 100% actual salary cost at overtime rate: time and one-half 
Basic Course Subsistence $50.00 per day 
Commuter Lunch $8.00 per day 
Subsistence allowance - by location where expense occurred 
• All counties not shown below $128.00 per day 
• Alameda County $189.00 per day 
• Los Angeles County $156.00 per day 
• San Diego County $156.00 per day 
• San Francisco County $189.00 per day 
• San Mateo County $189.00 per day 
• Santa Clara County $189.00 per day 

Travel Go to http://www.calhr.ca.gov/employees/Pages/travel- 
personal-vehicle.aspx for current mileage rate 

Tuition 100% or as listed in POST Catalog of Certified Courses 
 

(2) 

 

Courses with maximum reimbursement limitations 

(A) Subsistence, commuter lunch, and travel allowances will not be reimbursed for more than 
the maximum number of weeks (based on a minimum hourly requirement of 40 hours) 
authorized for the following courses: 

Weeks/Hours 

Regular Basic Course (Standard Format)  16.6 / 664 

   
Regular Basic Course (Modular Format, Intensive Presentation Only) 

   
Module III                                                                                             3.2 /128 

   
Module II                                                                                              4.4 /176 
Module I                                                                                                  9 /360 

Specialized Investigators' Basic Course 14.8 / 591 
Investigation and Trial Preparation Course 2 / 80 
Coroners' Death Investigation Course 2 / 80 
Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course 3 / 120 
Supervisory Course 2 / 80 
Advanced Officer Course 1 / 40 
Executive Development Course 2 / 80 
Management Course 2.6 / 104 

 
Management, Supervisory, Executive Seminars 1 / 40 

http://www.calhr.ca.gov/employees/Pages/travel-%20personal-vehicle.aspx�
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(3) 
 

Rates established annually or more frequently as determined by Commission 

The Commission may annually, or more frequently as determined by the Commission 
requested

 

, establish the reimbursement rates for the categories of expenses approved for the 
reimbursement plans. 

(4) 
 

Notification of reimbursement rates 

The Commission shall notify agencies participating in the POST Reimbursement 
Reimbursable

 

 Program and/or POST-approved training presenters of the modification of 
reimbursement rates within 60 days. 

(e) 
 

Reimbursement for Travel (Mileage) 

(1) 
 

Eligibility for travel (mileage) allowance 

(A)   Agencies participating in the POST Reimbursable Program 

 

shall receive reimbursement 
for travel (mileage) expenses if reimbursement of the expense has been requested on 
the Training Reimbursement Request form, POST 2-273 (Rev 04/2015) and if the trainee 
attending the course is the driver of the vehicle for which reimbursement is requested.   

(B)   POST-approved Tt

 

raining presenters shall submit their reimbursement requests for 
travel (mileage) expenses on the PRR form, POST 2-243 (Rev 04/2015). Training 
presenters shall be reimbursed for actual travel (mileage) expenses not to exceed the 
amount approved during the course certification process and as noted on the approved 
course budget, which shall be attached to the PRR form. 

(2) 
 

Passenger of vehicle 

 

A trainee shall be considered a passenger of a vehicle when being transported to a training 
course by another trainee in a private, agency, or rental vehicle. If several trainees share the 
driving of one vehicle to attend training, travel allowance shall be requested for only one 
trainee and the other trainee(s) shall be designated as a passenger(s).  

(3) 
 

Travel (mileage) allowance calculated by POST 

In the event that an agency participating in the POST Reimbursable Program  and/or POST-
approved training presenter is eligible for reimbursement pursuant to this regulation, POST 
shall reimburse total mileage at the per mile rate established approved 

 

by the Commission. 
Total mileage shall include adjusted straight-line mileage distance to and from the trainee’s 
agency assignment and the course site, the average daily mileage for transportation between 
the resident trainee’s accommodations and the course site, and the mileage incurred by a 
trainee to attend training at a location different from the main course site. Travel (mileage) 
allowance is intended to cover expenses to and from the course site. 

(4) 
 

Mileage incurred to and from the training course site 

(A)   

 

POST shall calculate the adjusted straight-line distance from agency/station assignment 
to the training course site and the return. 

(B)   Resident trainees as defined in Regulation 1001 are eligible for one round trip of mileage 
to and from the training course site plus one round trip for each weekend during the 
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training course time period up to the date the maximum number of weeks is reached for 
those courses with limited reimbursement as specified in Regulation 1015(d)(2). If 
weekend subsistence is less than travel (mileage), the weekend subsistence amount will 
be reimbursed. 

 
(C)   

 

Commuter trainees as defined in Regulation 1001 are eligible for one round trip of 
mileage to and from the training course site for each instructional day or up to the date 
the maximum number of weeks is reached for those courses with limited reimbursement 
as specified in Regulation 1015(d)(2). 

(5) 
 

Daily travel (mileage) allowance 

 

Resident trainees are eligible for reimbursement of mileage incurred from a resident trainee’s 
lodging accommodations to the course site at a flat rate travel allowance of ten miles round 
trip. Additional mileage will be allowed when the training course coordinator has notified 
POST that the nearest accommodation is greater than five miles one way. Daily mileage will 
be reimbursed from the date the course starts to the date the course ends or up to the date 
the maximum number of weeks is reached for those courses with limited reimbursement, as 
specified in Regulation 1015(d)(2). Daily travel allowance is automatically calculated based on 
the information supplied by the course presenter. 

(6) Travel (Mmileage) to other Ttraining Ccourse Ss
 

ites 

 

Upon notification by the training course presenter that travel expenses will be incurred by the 
trainees to attend training at a site(s) other than the main site of training, reimbursement shall 
be authorized for the number of miles reported by the training course presenter at the per mile 
rate approved by the Commission. 

(f) 
 

Reimbursement for Subsistence (Lodging and Meals) 

(1) 
 

Eligibility for subsistence (lodging and meals) allowance 

(A)   An agency participating in the POST Reimbursable Program 

 

 shall receive 
reimbursement for this category of expense for an agency employee that satisfies the 
“Resident Trainee” definition, as listed in Regulation 1001, if reimbursement has been 
requested on the POST-provided Training Reimbursement Request form, POST 2-273 
(Rev 04/2015). 

(B) 

 

POST-approved training presenters approved for subsistence reimbursement during the 
course certification process shall submit their reimbursement requests for actual costs on 
a Presenter Reimbursement Request (PRR) form, POST 2-243 (Rev 04/2015). The 
course budget approved during the course certification process must be attached to the 
PRR. 

(2) 
 

Subsistence (lodging and meals) allowance calculated by POST 

(A)   

 

If an agency participating in the POST Reimbursable Program and/or POST-approved 
training presenter are eligible for reimbursement of subsistence, POST shall determine 
the amount to be reimbursed based on the following situations: 

1. An agency participating in the POST Reimbursable Program shall be reimbursed for 
actual lodging costs not to exceed the rates established approved by the 
Commission for a trainee attending a POST-certified course, regardless of whether 
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that amount is less than the daily subsistence rate established approved

 

 by the 
Commission. 

2. Training Ccourse Pp

 

resenters shall be reimbursed for actual subsistence (lodging 
and meals) costs not to exceed the amount approved during the course certification 
process and as noted on the approved training course budget, which must be 
attached to the Presenter Reimbursement Request. 

(3) 
 

Subsistence (lodging and meals) for course days 

 

Subsistence shall be reimbursed for each instructional day or up to the date the maximum 
number of weeks is reached for those training courses with limited reimbursement as 
specified in Regulation 1015(d)(2). 

(4) 
 

Subsistence (lodging and meals) for weekends 

 

Subsistence shall be reimbursed for each weekend day that falls between the beginning date 
and ending date of the course or up to the date the maximum number of weeks is reached for 
those courses with limited reimbursement as specified in Regulation 1015(d)(2). Travel 
allowance for one round trip between the trainee’s station assignment and the training site 
shall be reimbursed in lieu of weekend subsistence when travel allowance is less. 

(5) 
 

Subsistence (lodging and meals) for school holidays 

 

Subsistence shall be reimbursed for each school holiday that falls between the beginning date 
and ending date of the course or up to the date the maximum number of weeks is reached for 
those courses with limited reimbursement as specified in Regulation 1015(d)(2). Travel 
(mileage) allowance for one round trip between the trainee’s station assignment and the 
training site shall be reimbursed in lieu of holiday subsistence when travel (mileage) 
allowance is less. 

(6) 
 
Subsistence (lodging and meals) for enroute travel time 

 

Subsistence shall be calculated as a percentage for reimbursement for enroute travel of more 
than 50 miles but less than 400 miles, not to exceed the maximum rates established by the 
Commission. 

(g) 
 

Reimbursement for Commuter Lunch Allowance 

(1) 
 
Commuter trainee definition (Regulation 1001) 

 

A commuter trainee is an individual who attends a training course and travels between his/her 
agency/station assignment or residence and the course site each day. Trainees who do not 
meet the definition of resident trainee as defined in Regulation 1001 shall be considered a 
commuter trainee for reimbursement purposes. 

(2) Eligibility for Ccommuter Ll
 

unch 

(A)    An agency participating in the POST Reimbursable Program  shall receive 
reimbursement for this category of expense for an employee who satisfies the 
“Commuter Trainee” definition as described in Regulation 1015(g)(1). Requests for 
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reimbursement of the commuter lunch expense shall be made on a Training 
Reimbursement Request form, POST 2-273 (Rev 04/2015). 

 

(B)    When the training course site is less than 25 miles one way from the agency 
participating in the POST Reimbursable Program, or assigned workstation location

 

, the 
agency shall remain eligible for commuter lunch. 

(C)    
 

One day courses are not eligible for the commuter lunch allowance. 

 
(3) Commuter Llunch Aallowance Cc

 
alculated by POST 

An agency participating in the POST Reimbursable Program and/or POST-approved Ttraining 
Pp

 

resenter eligible for reimbursement of commuter lunch allowance shall be reimbursed at an 
amount calculated by POST based on the daily lunch rate approved by the Commission. 

(4) 
 

Commuter lunch allowance for course days 

 

Commuter lunch allowance shall be reimbursed for each instructional day attended by the 
trainee for courses spanning more than one day, or up to the date the maximum number of 
weeks is reached as specified in Regulation 1015(d)(2). 

(5) 
 

Commuter lunch allowance for weekends, holidays, and enroute travel time 

Commuter Llunch Aa

 

llowance shall not be reimbursed for any weekend day, school holiday, 
or enroute travel time that is not an instructional day. 

(h) 
 

Reimbursement for Tuition 

(1) 
 

Definition of tuition 

 

Tuition is the amount charged by the training institution for trainees attending POST-certified 
courses.  

(2) 

 

Eligibility for tuition reimbursement 

 

An agency participating in the POST Reimbursable Program shall receive reimbursement for 
tuition for each trainee from the agency that attends a course certified by POST as a Plan I or 
Plan III course. 

(di) Back-fill (replacement)/Days-Off Reimbursement 
 

(1) The Commission will reimburse any Reimbursement shall be provided to any agency 
participating in the POST Reimbursable Program eligible agency, pursuant to Penal Code 
Section 13523 Penal Code, for the agency’s expense of paying salary at the overtime rate for 
attendance in designated Plan I and Plan II courses for

 

:  

(A)   Peace officers, public safety dispatchers, or public safety dispatcher supervisor

 

;  
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(B)   Supervisors who replace another peace officer, public safety dispatcher, or public safety 
dispatcher supervisor to attend training; 

 
or  

(C)   Peace officers, public safety dispatchers, or public safety dispatcher  supervisors who 
replace another peace officer, public safety dispatcher, or public safety dispatcher 
supervisor to attend training on his/her days off. 

  

(1) to a peace officer, who replaces another peace officer for his/her attendance at selected 
POST-certified training, or (2) to a peace officer who is assigned to training on his/her days 
off, or, (3) to a public safety dispatcher or dispatch supervisor who replaces another public 
safety dispatcher, or dispatch supervisor for his/her attendance at selected POST-certified 
training, or (4) to a public safety dispatcher, or dispatch supervisor who is assigned to training 
on his/her days off. 

 

(2) Courses approved as eligible for backfill reimbursement under POST-certified Plan I and  

  Plan II are: 

 
(A)   Developed and presented with Federal funds, and allocated by Federal law. 

(B)  Developed and presented with Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) funds. 

(C)  Meet a high priority in-service training need for peace officers, public safety dispatchers, 
or public safety dispatch supervisors. 

(2) Reimbursement claims may be made only for attendance at POST-certified training courses 
identified by the Commission. Training courses that qualify for reimbursement are restricted 
to: (a) courses developed and presented with Federal funds allocated by Federal law, STOP 
violence against women, (b) courses designed to address high-priority, in-service training 
needs of entry-level peace officers, and (c) courses designed to address high-priority, in-
service training needs of public safety dispatchers and dispatch supervisors. As such courses 
are certified, there will be a notation of eligibility for reimbursement. 

 
(3) When applying for reimbursement for back-fill costs, the agency must have incurred the 

expense of paying overtime to fill a position vacated by an officer, public safety dispatcher, or 
public safety dispatcher supervisor assigned to training, or assigned to training on their 
regularly scheduled days off. The overtime expense and back-fill claim must be directly 
connected to release and back-fill for a trainee, and records supporting back-fill claims must 
be maintained. Participating agencies are subject to audit by the State Controller. 

 

(4) The Commission has authorized back-fill reimbursement to include the travel release time 
associated with training, not to exceed a total of 16 hours more than the certified course 
hours. Overtime hours for travel release time shall be added to course hours for which a 
back-fill claim is being requested. 

 

(35) Reimbursement shall be paid at 100% of actual salary cost (refer to Regulation 1015(i)(6)) (at 
the time and one-half overtime rate) incurred to keep a position filled while the incumbent 
attends training. Payment is subject to availability of funds. 

 

(6) Actual salary cost as noted in Regulation 1015(i)(5) is defined as the base monthly salary for 
the employee’s job classification that shall not include incentive pay, hazard pay, education 
subvention, scholarship, insurance premiums, medical benefits, watch differential pay, 
pension plans, and uniform allowance or other employee benefits. Actual salary cost is the 
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base monthly salary earned by the employee on the starting day of the training course for 
which reimbursement is being requested. 

 

(j) POST and/or State Controller’s Office Reimbursement Audits 
 

An agency participating in the POST Reimbursable Program and/or a POST-approved training 
presenter requesting reimbursement shall, upon request of POST or the State Controller’s Office, 
provide records that verify the accuracy of the amount the agency and/or presenter was reimbursed 
annually by POST. Such records shall be retained by the agency and/or training course presenter 
for a minimum of three years following the date of reimbursement for each specific course.  

 
PAM Section E-1-4c adopted effective April 15, 1982 and amended January 21, 1994, is herein 
incorporated by reference. 
PAM Section E-1-4e adopted effective April 15, 1982 is herein incorporated by reference. 
Note: Refer to PAM, Section E, Reimbursements, for detailed information on reimbursement procedures. 
 
PAM Section E incorporated into Regulation 1015 effective October 1, 2015 April 1, 2016. 

 
Note: Authority cited: Sections 13503, 13506, 13510, and 13520, Penal Code. Reference: Sections 13510, 13511, 
13512, 13518, 15320, 13522, 13523, 13524, and 13525, Penal Code; Section 11489, Health and Safety Code; and 
Statues 1997, Chapter 9, Section 2, (Senate Bill 350). 

 
1055. Requirements for Course Presentation. 
 
[1055(a) through 1055(f)(8) continued] 
 
  (g)    Required Documents to Submit Upon Completion of Presentation  
 

A completed Course Roster, POST 2-111 (Rev 7/07) shall be prepared and submitted to the 
Commission after completion of each certified course presentation. The following documents shall 
accompany each course roster: 

 
(1)  Any Training Reimbursement Requests, POST 2-273 (Rev 8/93 04/2015) that is provided to   

the presenter by trainees, and  
 

[1055(g)(2) continued to the end] 
 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 13503 and 13506, Penal Code. Reference: Section 13503(e), Penal Code. 
 

 
Additional Attachments: 
Attachment B-1 – Training Reimbursement Request form, POST 2-273 (Rev 04/2015) 
Attachment B-2 – Training Reimbursement Request form, POST 2-273 (05/2010 8/93) 
Attachment C-1 – Presenter Reimbursement Request (PRR) form, POST 2-243 (Rev 04/2015) 
Attachment C-2 -- Presenter Reimbursement Request (PRR) form, POST 2-243 (04/2014) 
 

 


