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Subject:    40-Hour Cap Business Rules 
 
As a result of a $2 million reduction to POST’s Fiscal Year 2008-09 budget, reimbursable 
training is capped at 40 hours per officer, per fiscal year starting July 1, 2008, until further 
notice.  (Reference Bulletin #2008-11, which can be viewed on POST’s website at 
http://www.post.ca.gov/bulletin/doc/2008-11.pdf)   To ensure statewide uniformity in the 
administration of the cap, POST has established the following business rules: 
 
1. The cap is set at 40 hours of non-exempt reimbursable training for all ranks and  
 classifications.  
 
2. The cap may not be exceeded when a course attended started before the 40-hour cap was 
 reached.   
 
 For example, if an agency has been reimbursed for an officer completing a 16-hour course 
 and the officer then attends a 40-hour course, the agency will only be reimbursed for an 
 additional 24 hours, for a total of 40 hours of reimbursed training for two courses.  The 
 reimbursement is calculated as a percentage of the total reimbursement.  In this case, 24 
 hours is 60% of 40 hours.  If the total calculated reimbursement would have been $1,000, 
 the agency would be reimbursed $600, i.e., 60%. 
 
3. Courses not on the exempt list that are certified for more than 40 hours will be reimbursed 
 only for 40 hours, not the full length of the certified hours.  Reimbursement to the agency 
 will be calculated as per the example in #2 above. 
 
4. Courses exempt from the 40-hour cap will not count toward the cap.  
 
5. Attendance at training courses for which reimbursement is not requested will not be 
 counted toward the cap.  
 
6. The above business rules will be applied to all training that started or was completed 
 while the 40-hour cap was in effect.  Reimbursement claims will be processed consistent 
 with the cap for the year in which the training began, regardless of the date or fiscal 
 year in which the claim is received. Reimbursement will not be paid in following years for 
 training in prior years that exceeds the 40-hour cap. 
 
 For example, if an agency has been reimbursed in FY 2008-09 for 36 hours of training for 
 an officer and submits a reimbursement claim in FY 2009-10 for another 36 hours of  
 

The mission of the California Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training is to continually enhance  
the professionalism of California law enforcement in serving its communities.  

http://www.post.ca.gov/bulletin/doc/2008-11.pdf


STATE OF CALIFORNIA ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER, Governor 
 

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE BILL LOCKYER, Attorney General 
 

Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training 
1601 Alhambra Blvd 
Sacramento, CA 95816-7083 
www.post.ca.gov 
 
 
 training attended in FY 2008-09, reimbursement will be paid only for the four hours that 
 will meet the cap in FY 2008-09. 
 
Questions concerning the limitation for reimbursable training may be directed to your regional 
POST consultant.   Refer to the POST website for the current list of courses exempt from the 
40-hour cap.  Reimbursement claim questions should be directed to the Reimbursement Unit at 
916.227.3933.   
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